Bella Mechelle Beauty

Ay dios mio! Sangria!

Posted on: July 5, 2010

My mom saw me sipping on some sangria and said, “Stephanie, it’s only 3:15 and you’re drinking… that’s not good!”

Whatever, it’s my day off.  Actually I almost never drink, but I’m always in the mood for a nice cocktail. In today’s case, sangria was on my mind. I’ve seen a place that makes some really good sangria but I always wait so that I can visit and buy some. Today, I decided to quench my thirst.

Here’s the recipe:

  • You will need two pitchers or two large cups. I used two large plastic cups to mix the drink.
  • Burgundy wine or prepared sangria (I used Cruz Garcia Real Sangria)
  • One shot of fruit punch and one of orange juice (I used Tropicana)
  • Two wedges of lemon, lime, and two cherries
  • Sprite or Sierra Mist (< that’s just a Sprite substitute : /)

1. Fill one cup or pitcher full of ice three-fourths of the way.

2. Fill the container halfway (or a little more) full of the wine/sangria.

3. Squeeze the lemon and lime wedges, and the cherries into sangria.  Drop the crushed fruit into the sangria.  Add the shots of fruit punch and orange juice.

4. Fill the remainder of the container with the Sprite or Sierra Mist.

5. Mix the drink by sloshing it into the second container.  I did this a couple of times to make sure it was mixed well.

That’s it!  It only took me five minutes to make, and it was yummy!

Leave a Reply

