Bella Mechelle Beauty

Imitation Garnier Fructis Triple Nutrition Hair Masque

Posted on: June 17, 2010

For those of you who know me, you know that I work at Rite Aid part-time…  the job is absolutely a waste of time, but in hard times one must sacrifice (sigh).  So one day we’re putting up stock, and I make it a point to ALWAYS put away the hair products.  I’m digging, digging, digging, and I notice that there’s a new Garnier Fructis line: Triple Nutrition.  I’m instantly hooked… it has shea butter, olive oil, AND avocado oil! One problem though: Garnier Fructis has a high alcohol content for my hair type and it never makes my hair soft… I hate that because it smells so good and I’m a sucker for great scents!  The three minute masque is what really caught my eye… only because I’m absolutely infatuated with deep conditioners and treatments.

So instead of buying this hair masque, I’m just thinking to myself that I’ll make my own… what an idea!  It seemed great until… well… just keep reading…

For this masque, I used:

  • two avocados
  • 1/4 cup of olive oil
  • two teaspoons of solid shea butter

So I pretty much mixed the ingredients together and mashed the avocado with a fork.  The mix was super clumpy so I decided to mix it with a mixer instead of just relying on a flimsy fork.  After the mixture was smooth, I applied it to DRY hair.  I know what you’re thinking… “she should’ve applied it to wet hair!” This is very true, but because I have become so accustomed to doing another specific deep conditioning routine I completely ruled that option out.  So that’s mistake number one ( don’t apply the masque to dry hair).

While I’m applying the masque, it’s going on kinda clumpy.  At first it didn’t bother me, but when it got to the point that half of the masque was in the sink and an eighth was in my hair I then realized that it was really difficult to apply (mistake number two).  All the clumps just kept falling out and making a mess, so I just got fed up and flipped my head upside to apply the rest.

To make a LONG story short, the masque was a complete disaster.  I thought I was being inventive, but it kinda backfired.  The avocado made my hair feel super dry and it also took five washes to get all of the clumps out.  However, I’m proud of myself : D.  I wanted to be creative and it takes trial and error… right???

Click here to read Jeanasina’s review of the real Garnier Fructis Triple Nutrition line.

6 Responses to "Imitation Garnier Fructis Triple Nutrition Hair Masque"

I say give yourself a pat on the back. And I’m right there with you as far as becoming obsessed with deep conditioning and hair treatments. I recently decided to to go natural, so I’ve been paying attention more to the ingredients, and alcohol is a BIG no-no! I say keep trying your hand at the mix (you just can’t go wrong with shea butter and olive oil), because I’m a self-proclaimed mixologist… LOL! Good luck!

~Lana

Thanks for your comment! Alcohol is absolutely unacceptable… I’m semi-big on ingredients (depending on the product) and I was so excited about the Triple Nutrition line because those are great oils! Unfortunately, the alcohol content overpowers the strengths of the product. I’ll definitely be trying another mix, but next time I’ll knock the avocado out of the equation!

well your a lot braver when it comes to testing your hair than i am lol. Over the last 2 semesters i kept dying my hair almost every 4-6weeks, which isn’t good I know but i just loved having the bright red in my hair, however now im suffering because i lost a lot of length because of it. So i was wondering whats your views on “Doo Gro”? because Ive been using it for over a period of time,(i have the shampoo and deep conditioner, oil, and moisturizer) but i don’t know if i should keep with it. what do you suggest i try or helps with the increase of thickness?

Yeah I used to be like that my freshman year of college… I dyed my hair twice with Dark’n’Lovely PERMANENT hair dye within three months… I’ve never used the Doo Gro before, and I haven’t heard of any of my friends using it but if it works for YOU then that’s all that matters. If your hair is dry, limp, and still breaking after consistent use, THEN you should change your products. I like Cream of Nature products, and the whole Organic Root Stimulator line. Also, make sure to maintain a good protein/moisture balance because too much of either one can break the hair. You can try to use some Jamaican Black Castor Oil to help thicken the hair (I have a friend who uses it, and her hair is great). I also apply vitamin E on my scalp for growth, and use coconut oil as a deep conditioner about every other week. Vitamins (prenatals, Biotin, hair/skin/nails) also help. I got some hair pills from http://www.exoticallure.com when I went natural for a few months and my hair grew like crazy! Hope this helps : D

thanks for the tips! i just had a few follow up questions, hope thats ok lol. what would you suggest a good protein moisture would be? and what kind of vitamin e do you apply and what kind of store can i find that at? i’ve been natural for since 10th grade in high school, and im now a jr at hampton so i def have my challenges with humidity coming from ca which has none, to va which def has it at times. but i didn’t have to cut my hair off or anything, i just one day stopped getting perms and i actually at the time didn’t even know i was “going natural” or anything. so i’ve been able to keep it healthy for all these years yup to just this past year. i was also dealing with alot of relationship stress for most of the year so im assuming that could of played a part in the breakage? also where can i find Jamaican Castro oil? lol sorry i have alot of questions, but i saw your tumblar page and i can tell you have very nice and healthy hair and i can tell you def know what ur talking about lol.

Haha… no problem girl… Ok, a good protein/moisture balance is making sure that you have a good balance of both protein and moisturizing conditioners. A good example of a protein conditioner is the Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Replenishing Conditioner (this is probably my favorite mainly because it contains several natural ingredients). The purpose of a protein conditioner is to strengthen the hair and prevent breakage! You need moisture in your hair so that it’s not dry… and keep in mind that too much of either protein or moisture can make the hair break. A good moisturizing conditioner is Cream of Nature Professional Moisture Extreme Conditioner. I use a protein conditioner once every two weeks, and the same for the moisturizing. I also use Aphogee Two-step Protein Treatment once a month for an intense protein session.

Next, I use Vitamin E softgels. You can find them in the vitamin/health supplement section of your health food store, grocery store, or drugstore. I just prick the capsule open, and apply it to my scalp! You should go wherever they have sales so that you can get more for your money (buy one get one free, etc.; it will last longer. I got mine from Rite Aid.

You can find the Jamaican Black Castor Oil on Ebay… there’s another website but I can’t remember the name right now. If I remember, then I’ll let you know… sorry : /.

Going natural is definitely a challenge and can be tedious/annoying if you’re not ready for the challenge or willing to stay away from harmful ingredients. You really have to know how to deal with it, and unfortunately, I just wasn’t cut out for the challenge. I like to wear my hair straight, so going natural wasn’t for me anyway. I’m proud that I even gave it a shot to begin with though : D

Leave a Reply

